jump to navigation

I would have posted sooner, but… May 8, 2007

Posted by marymac in Excuses for not posting.
trackback

…my parents sent me and my siblings off to stay with this Professer dude and I got stuck in an armoire with some happy woodland creatures….

No? Would you believe…I was minding my own business in my tiny bedroom under the stairs when an owl arrived…?

How about a wicked witch with some bright red shoes? Would you believe a wicked witch?*

Well, clearly I need to read more non-fiction. And maybe less 900-page novels. (It’s an excellent book; just know that if you get your copy from the library you will be reading nothing else for quite a while if you want to finish it without accruing a ginormous fine.)

Anyway, I promised my dear LauraLauraLaura more pink, so here we have my Big Pink scarf. This is made out of the Blue Sky Alpaca that my co-worker gifted me with a while back and I couldn’t figure out what else to do with. (My apologies to anyone who hoped I’d end up sending it to them. I needed a new scarf.)

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

My one teeny-tiny problem with making things like the Big Pink Scarf, however? Well, maybe this will give you an idea:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

GREAT BIG KNITTING NEEDLES…teeny little girly hands. Ow.

But I was strong. I persevered. My neck was cold.

(Bear with me on the winterwear — did I mention the owl and the armoire?)

Meanwhile, this is one of the superseekrid projects I was working on and much more in my physical range:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

A couple of months ago a friend of mine did a very brave thing. I won’t get into the details here because it’s not my story, but suffice it to say that it was a Very Big Deal and she kicked ass and took names and all is very well right now. Well, she’s a big Firefly fan, so I made her a Jayne hat to recognize her heroism (also, there’s no knitwear associated with Captain Tightpants, so there you go). And if much of that paragraph means nothing to you, go forth and watch, my pretties.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Isn’t it fabulously unattractive? That’s part of its charm. (Oh, and the lovely Pam came up with this particular version of the pattern, but you should not hold the fabulous unattractiveness against her. She did a great job of reverse-engineering.)

That’s all for now, my pretties — next time I’ll tell you all about how people sent me stuff for no particular reason recently and show it to you. I think there’s a camera somewhere in this armoire.

*If you know what tv show I’m referencing here and tell me in the comments and are the first one to do so I will send you something nice.** Well, something that I’ll pretend I think is nice and you’ll pretend to also think it’s nice in order to be polite but secretly you’ll talk about my bad taste behind my back. And call me paranoid.

**”Something nice” will probably be yarn but there used to be some non-knitters who read this blog (though I think perhaps I’ve driven them away with all the yarny posts) and I’m trying to be inclusive n’ stuff.***

***Inclusive N’ Stuff would be a good name for a store, but I don’t know exactly what you’d sell there. Maybe it would be a better name for, like, a community center or something.

Comments»

1. Laura - May 8, 2007

I’m not sure what I’m supposed to guess here. In order: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, Harry Potter, The Wizard of Oz, and something that only has to do with a wicked witch? I suppose it’s the last think you’re after. According to my sources several TV shows had characters named “Wicked Witch” or “The Wicked Witch.” So, I’ll guess Sabrina, the Teenage Witch.

oh, and PINK!

2. Zuma - May 8, 2007

Yay! She’s back… and with more PINK! And with a Jayne hat! Much rejoicing. =)

3. Zuma - May 8, 2007

Oh -which witch? Uh…. there was a witch on Buffy but she wasn’t that bad… well, until she bacame pure evil. So – Willow from Buffy maybe?

4. Roxy - May 9, 2007

Futurama. The episode where Leela gets knocked out and dreams of being “Dorothy” and those red boots “that don’t come in women’s sizes”

LOL!!!!

😀

5. mmstyle/mallory - May 22, 2007

It’s a Jayne hat!!!! Yippeeee!!!!

Ahem…Cap’n tightpants in knitwear? Er, I’m sure he would not have minded when he was stranded with naught else post-lassiter debacle, but otherwise……well, I really could see Kaylee knittin’ him up somethin’ sweet, you think?


Leave a Reply

