jump to navigation

Oh, For the Love of Maude January 29, 2007

Posted by marymac in I'm so deep, knitting, Me me me!.
trackback

First, replies to a couple of comments on my last post.

Karen asked: Is there a superseeeecret project that I’m not aware of? Or don’t you guys love me anymore because I”m not in chat as often?

If there are any current group superseekrit projects, I’m not aware of them, either. I have some personal superseekrit projects that I’m not posting about yet because at least some of the intended recipients read this blog regularly and I am trying to be surprising…erm…to surprise them. So no pics until the gifties are in their hot little hands (and that hand comment is not a hint). Also, I think Valerie was supposed to talk to you about how we voted you out of the cool kids club because you’re not in chat as often, but you didn’t hear that from me.

And Laura says: More pink (and more Barbie) please.

There will be more pink soon, because I think you have done something to my brain. Also, Blogging is Hard! (How’s that for Barbieness?)

Okay, all personal messages aside I wanted to talk to you about…the weather. Why? Because that’s what people do here in New England. All. The. Time. I do it too, in spite of the fact that I’ve never really considered myself much of a “New Englander” — Monkee‘s assertions of my “Yankeeness” notwithstanding. I suspect this has something to do with my family’s having lived in the US for less than 100 years (yes, both sides), but that’s another post.
Recently, our weather went from this:


To this:
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Overnight.

No, really!

Okay, maybe over the course of a couple of weeks months. Not more than six, I swear. Regardless, it got wicked cold wicked fast, and I found myself wanting a new hat. (My old hat still worked, it was just kind of itchy, which was entirely my own fault for cheaping out with the itchy wool, I know, and that’s why I put up with the itchitude for longer than I should have. Also, I am lazy about making stuff for myself. Yes, I am deserving. Yes, I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, people like me. Still lazy, though.)

!@#$@#&^ freezing cold can be quite motivating, however, so it only took me a couple of evenings to churn out this:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

‘Tis the Sunflower Tam from Knitting Nature, done with Patons Classic Merino in Burgundy, which I have a ton of because I think it was meant for a sweater that never happened. (I am slow as well as lazy — much of my stash was purchased for projects that never materialized.) Anyway, this took less than a ball, so I still have a ton of it. And no, that’s not my head in the picture.

I wasn’t sure how I felt about the finished hat at first — the fit is fine, but it’s a little chef‘s toque-y, and I was concerned about appearing…howyousay…dorky. Fortunately, I am growing too old to put dorkiness over non-itchy headgear, and I decided to embrace the toque-yness. You’re still not getting any pics of me wearing the hat, however.

These give you a better view of the sunflower pattern:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

And lo, my head was warm, and there was much rejoicing. Which continued when I heard this news. When I was a kid I watched a lot of tv, and I associated many of the characters on my favorite shows with people I knew — mostly family members. My Aunt V. was Maude — divorced, tall, brassy, and with a mouth like a sailor. V. is still kicking at the age of seventy*mumble*, and it’s nice to see that Maude is back, too.

…compromisin’, enterprisin’, anything but tranquilizin’,
Right on Maude!

Comments»

1. katyjane - January 29, 2007

Oh wow–I love that sunflower pattern! It looks absolutely gorgeous, but at the same time is incredibly subtle.

Hats off to you! 🙂 (Pun intended)

2. Theresa - January 30, 2007

There are too many things to be loving here. I’m overwhelmed! YAY!

3. Susann - January 30, 2007

Yay! Pink hat, white snow! 🙂

4. Fee - January 30, 2007

Word of caution, do not leave the hat in a Lab, ensure you have the hat on your person at all times and check before leaving a room!
sneaky beggers hats

love,

Your famous friend 😉

5. Karen - January 30, 2007

You would boot me out of the cool kids club, wouldn’t you? 🙂

Very nice hat there.

6. mtwelovett - February 4, 2007

pretty hat. I love the pink color of it. and the pattern is fun..
when did you vote Karen out?? I must have been voted out too, since I haven’t been around much either.. 😉

7. anne aka roxinator - February 13, 2007

Woop!

Pink!

(surprise)

Big hugs,
Roxy

8. shonze (Shona) - February 18, 2007

After being in chat last night I have decided to delurk and post a comment! I really like your hat. BTW you could never be dorky, no matter what you wore!

9. peri - March 6, 2007

Lovely hat MM :=)

10. mmstyle/mallory - March 8, 2007

Thanks for the advice for my sox, MM! I don’t know why I forgot to check that site! The video made perfect sense! (Duh! 🙂
Mallory

11. Roxy - April 26, 2007

*tap tap*

Hey sweety

You okay?

Holla back sometime 🙂

Hugs,
ANne


Leave a Reply

