jump to navigation

Resolved January 21, 2007

Posted by marymac in knitting, Me me me!, yarn.
trackback

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions. I like to pretend that it’s because my eternal quest for self-improvement is beyond regulation by some arbitrary date on the calendar at which time I’m supposed to decide on all the things I’ll want to do over the next twelve months. But just between you and me and the lamppost, the truth is that I hate to be wrong, even if it’s about something as trivial as my ability to get to bed at a certain time on a regular basis, and you can’t break a New Year’s resolution if you don’t make ’em in the first place.

(And what does happen if you come up with a new resolution in, like, July? Do you call it a Mid-Year Resolution? Do you wait six months before trying to follow it? I have no idea what’s going to be important to me in July, kittens! (Hell, I have no idea what’s going to be important to me in February, but I’m working on that — see “eternal quest for self-improvement”, above.))

It has been suggested to me that perhaps I could resolve to update the ‘ol blog more often, because I’m a wee bit behind. Yeah, that’s gonna happen. I have been remiss, though in a couple of things…..

Shortly before The Holidaze, I went on a little WEBS mission for my dear Roxy, and in return she sent me a treat:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
(“Barbie” is one of my aliases. Don’t ask.)

Now, the little pink case would be exciting enough on its own, but when I opened it I found these inside:




Loverly stitch markers! I promise to try not to lose them, Roxy! (I’m kind of bad with the stitch marker losing, but I’ve managed to hold on to these so far. The case helps.)

Also, just to prove that I do occasionally finish things, these were part of my brother and SIL’s XMess gifts:




They’re the Manly Mitts from Knitty, sized down a bit because my brother has “teeny little girly hands” (don’t tell him I told you that). My hands are the same size as his, so getting the sizing right on these was easy-peasy. They’re done in Cascade 220 in colors that I don’t remember because I bought the yarn a year ago and only just got around to giving the gifts. They were my first stranded pattern and I had a lot of fun making them until about 1/3 of the way through the fourth one, at which time I never wanted to see a mitten again in my life. I have since recovered.

Close-up of the stranded colorwork:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I also made a scarf for my SIL’s birthday gift (her birthday is between XMess and New Year’s, so it tends to get lost in the shuffle). She likes pink, in case you haven’t figured that out:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

That’s Argosy, also a Knitty pattern. It’s made from two balls of Valley Yarns Amherst (a little less than two balls, actually, because I kind of misjudged on how much I needed to finish so it’s a short scarf). This was the first opportunity I’ve had to use Amherst, and I liked it a lot — it has a nice hand (it’s Merino wool) and shows stitch definition well:




I’m not crazy about non-reversible scarves, but I wanted a relatively quick knit (since I didn’t manage to get the gift started until the day before I wanted to give it…oops) and the stitch pattern for Argosy is pretty easy to memorize. SIL said she liked it, but she used to be an Actor, so I’m never sure if she really means it when she says she likes her gifts.

Now it’s time for television and dinner and knitting on superseeecrudprojekt #3432564.5. I resolve to blog again sometime this year….

Comments»

1. ladybean73 - January 22, 2007

YAY update!! Argosy looks pretty. I love pink!! The back doesn’t look too bad though. I know what you mean about the mittens. I’m mittened-out myself.

2. Karen - January 22, 2007

Argosy DOES look pretty!

Is there a superseeeecret project that I’m not aware of? Or don’t you guys love me anymore because I”m not in chat as often? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

3. Laura - January 22, 2007

Argosy *isn’t* reversible?! Thank goodness you told me. It’s crossed off my if-I-ever-make-a-scarf-I-will-make-one-of-these list.

I’m very enamored with all the pink in this post. More pink (and more Barbie) please.

4. mtwelovett - January 23, 2007

Pink Pink Pink.. yay for scarf and mittens. ๐Ÿ™‚ the stitch markers are fab. too. maybe I’ll finish my mittens sometime this year.. ( i hear Bean giggling up there… )

5. roxy - August 15, 2007

Miss you chica. I know this post is months old, but I’m glad you liked the markers. We are sisters in pink ๐Ÿ™‚
Call me sometime

xoxo
~a


Leave a Reply

