jump to navigation

Bomp-chicka-wow-wow…. November 28, 2006

Posted by marymac in yarn.
trackback

I don’t normally do this kind of thing (I know, I know, that’s what they all say), but one of my co-workers gifted me with some fancy-shmancy yarn yesterday (she’s destashing, or possibly giving up knitting [no, I don’t know how that works, either] or something — whatever, the yarn is mine now). So in lieu of the usual well thought-out prose (yeah, yeah — less thinking, more proseing), StoryValue would like to present… yarn pr0n.

Just as a reminder, I am a lousy photographer to begin with and I took these photos in my poorly-lit apartment, so if this was pr0n pr0n instead of yarn pr0n, it would be the kind where the camera shakes a lot and the woman with fake boobs and too much makeup is only wearing a teddie when the pizza guy shows up at the door. Not that I know anything about that sort of thing. *polishes halo* Also, Blondie and Buffy should know that I’m really, really sorry to do this to people who do not knit.

Aaaanyway, the yarniness (click for big!):


Blue Sky Alpacas Bulky Hand Dyes in pink. I have no idea what this is going to be, because I’m not into the bulky yarns and there are only four hanks. Perhaps I can find some deserving person who likes pink out there….


Mission Falls 1824 Cotton. It looks kind of green in this picture, but the color is a little more khaki in real life. I have four balls of this — I think it’s going to be a little something for my nephew, possibly Cargo.


More pink! This is Rowan Calmer, which I’d never petted before. It is loverly. I have Plans for the Calmer, but I can’t tell you what they are. (Well, I can, but then I’d have to kill you, and I’m trying to keep the yarn clean.) Moving on….

Frog Tree Alpaca in purple,


and purpler.


No idea what’s going to end up happening to this stuff. I only have a few balls of it altogether.


Alchemy Yarns Bamboo. One teeny hank, and who knows what it will be. But it’s purple and soft and my friend insisted I take it.


Then we have some Rowan Cotton Rope.


Lots of Cotton Rope. If I liked to wear green and was possessed of less boobage (and less me-age in general), it would make a nice tank top or something. Which means I have no idea what it’s going to be.

And finally, there’s this:


I have no idea what this is. It seems wool-ish, but there’s no ball band and my friend doesn’t remember what it is. She insisted that I take it because it would make a really good baby hat (see nephew comment, above). I’m not generally a fan of the variegated yarn, but who am I to argue when it comes with the rest of this loot?

That’s it — I’m all pr0ned out. Stay tuned for more of your regularly scheduled ranting.

Comments»

1. Valerie - November 28, 2006

Hee. You’re the Skinemax of yarn pr0n. Or a celebrity sex tape. I can’t decide which.

I have that color of Mission Falls, if you end up needing more. I think I have a ball or two. Really nice stuff! I want to pet the Blue Sky and the Calmer.

2. cooknknit - November 29, 2006

Maryann put up pr0n!! Woo! Blue sky is yummy. Really yummy. And pink. I likes pink. *wink, wink* 0:)

3. D - November 29, 2006

Always knew you had those gutter-type tendencies. 😛
Yarn pr0n? Sure. You missed a spot on your halo 😉

4. April - November 29, 2006

PINK and BULKY! Makes a hat n scarf set for people like ME? (wink, wink, and a side of chocolate).

5. Laura - November 29, 2006

/me flutters eyelashes at Barbie.
Did someone say, “pink?”

That last bit looks like some of that fake-isle Regia sock yarn. Enjoy the yarn!

6. mtwelovett - November 30, 2006

Pretty yarn 🙂 Personally *I* like the greens and purples better than the pink 😉 not sure what that last bit is, but maybe it would make a nice baby hat.

7. mmstyle - December 1, 2006

Oooh, lucky you! Lovely yarn. And no snow in Mass? Weird!
That yarn is soo nice. How could someone build up stash with such nice stuff and then…….uuuuu…..giiiii…..give up knitting?

8. Theresa - December 4, 2006

SCORE!

9. I would have posted sooner, but... « Story Value - May 8, 2007

[…] more pink, so here we have my Big Pink scarf. This is made out of the Blue Sky Alpaca that my co-worker gifted me with a while back and I couldn’t figure out what else to do with. (My apologies to anyone who […]


Leave a Reply

